the dressmaker book coverI have 1 copy of The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham to give away! 

Open to US residents only

About the book

Soon to be a major motion picture starring Kate Winslet and Liam Hemsworth, The Dressmaker by Rosalie Ham is a darkly satirical novel of love, revenge, and 1950s haute couture. The upcoming film’s writer-director Jocelyn Moorhouse describes it as “Unforgiven with a sewing machine,” and the novel’s rich sense of setting and artfully described fashion make it easy to imagine on the big screen.

After twenty years spent mastering the art of dressmaking at couture houses in Paris, Myrtle “Tilly” Dunnage returns to the small Australian town she was banished from as a child after false accusations of murder. She plans only to check on her ailing, eccentric mother and then leave. But Tilly decides to stay, and though she is still an outcast, her lush, exquisite dresses prove irresistible to the prim women of Dungatar. Through her fashion business, her friendship with Sergeant Farrat—the town’s only policeman, who harbors an unusual passion for fabrics—and a budding romance with Teddy, the local football star whose family is almost as reviled as hers, she finds a measure of grudging acceptance.

But her dresses begin to arouse competition and envy among the women in town, causing old resentments to surface, and it becomes clear that Tilly’s mind is set on a darker design: exacting revenge on those who wronged her, in the most spectacular fashion.

Ham writes beautifully of fabrics and fashion, and paints a vivid portrait of the loyalties and betrayals of a small Australian town. This novel, for readers of The Other Typist and Burial Rights, will have you eyeing both high-fashion clothing and your neighbors in a new light.

a Rafflecopter giveaway