Subscribe via RSS Feed Pinterest

Review: The Gathering Storm by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson

[ 8 ] July 17, 2010 |

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

The Gathering Storm is the 12th book in Robert Jordan’s The Wheel of Time fantasy series. Like most fantasy series, reading order is important and even more so for this one. If you haven’t read any previous books, you will be lost in the prologue, or at least completely unaware of the significance of any of the actions taken. As an example, someone (an insane fanatic) who I had been waiting and wanting to be knocked off for several books finally meets his end in the first few pages . A reader unfamiliar with the series might get the impression that this ‘innocent’ man had been double-crossed and was slaughtered with the rest of his followers by some unsavory people.

Rand Al’Thor is a shepard in a little hamlet up near the Mountains of Myst, along with his best friends, Perrin Aybara, an apprentice blacksmith, and Matrim Cauthon, a prankster, with too many sisters at home. The fate of the Pattern and all creation rests on the shoulders of these three young men. Moiraine Damodred arrives in the little town of Edmond’s Field just ahead of the evil sent to destroy them to prevent them from succeeding.

I have been waiting for The Gathering Storm to come out for several years and in the middle of that wait Robert Jordan died. He had left us a promise that there would be only one more book to finish. Brandon Sanderson was chosen to complete the series and give the fans some closure by taking Jordan’s copious notes and tying the story together. As it turns out The Gathering Storm is actually the first third of the ‘last book’. Unlike books 6-9, this one is packed with activity, several of the numerous threads have come to an end and we can see that the end IS near.

In my opinion, Brandon Sanderson has done an excellent job picking up Jordan’s torch. As good a job as Jordan was doing, I think Sanderson’s writing is even better.  I am sure that fans of the Wheel of Time have either read or plan to read this installment in the near future. For those that have not tried it or tried it and got bored in the middle: give it a try! Start at the beginning (most fantasy fans enjoy the first 2-3 books then get bored), read until it seems to become to slow or monotonous then go to Read the synopsis of books 9-10, then start reading the books again. This is definitely an epic saga.

Caleb is a software engineer and amature woodworker living in southern Minnesota. He has more hobbies than he has time or money for, and enjoys his quiet time reading.

This book was provided free of any obligation by Tor Books. No monetary or any other form of compensation was received.

Be Sociable, Share!
  • more
Pin It

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Category: Literature & Fiction, Science Fiction & Fantasy

Comments (8)

Trackback URL | Comments RSS Feed

  1. 7
    bookblogger says:

    I really like Sanderson’s work and had gotten a little burned out on WoT, but after everything is published and I have a bit of time I’ll be reading the whole thing. I can’t wait to see what he has done with the series.
    bookblogger recently posted..Free book and guest post by Elizabeth Baxter

  2. 6
    Carol Wong says:

    This sounds like a great book for a young male but enough it is great, I just cannot do this much fantasy. Wish that I know some kids to recommend it too, thought.

    Carol Wong

  3. 5

    […] time and makes you understand what it was really like living then.Read our reviews:The Last Call | The Gathering Storm | The Forgotten LegionOur round-up is now over – read more about the celebration here. […]

  4. 4
    Annmarie W. says:

    My hubby is a huge fan of this series, and also has waited for this book to come out. He’s been spending the past months going back & reading the whole series so he’s ready for this one!

  5. 3
    RivkaBelle says:

    I’ll indulge in a fantasy read every now and again, but have never committed to anything along the lines of a long-running series … I have heard of this one though, and several friends are avid readers … Sounds like this book could be interesting/hold your attention – but having to read so much back-story is a bit daunting. Think I’ll stick to my non-fantasy-saga stance :) Love the title though, hehe

  6. 2
    Colleen Turner says:

    Hmmm…not a big fantasy reader but sounds like a fun read for those who are. I haven’t heard of this series but will recommend to my fantasy genre friends!

  7. 1
    Tweets that mention “The Gathering Storm” by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson | Luxury Reading|Book Reviews, Author Interviews, Giveaways -- says:

    […] This post was mentioned on Twitter by spvaughan, Vera @ LuxuryReading. Vera @ LuxuryReading said: “The Gathering Storm” by Robert Jordan and Brandon Sanderson: Reviewed by Caleb S. The Gathering Sto… #luxuryreading […]

    • 1.1
      Sandra K321 says:

      My son found this series a couple of years ago (when he was 14) and absolutely loves it. He loves this type of book and went through the entire series, eagerly awaiting the next installment. He was sad when Robert Jordan died, but was glad that he had left notes so that someone else could finish the series for him. My son has read the series multiple times looking for things he might have missed the first time and just because he enjoys the writing so much. If you have teenagers that are looking for some summer reading material, I would recommend the Wheel of Time series but make sure they start with book 1 so they understand what is going on.

Leave a Reply

If you want a picture to show with your comment, go get a Gravatar.

CommentLuv badge