Subscribe via RSS Feed

Tag: "giveaway"

Giveaway: The Husband Swap by Louisa Leontiades

[ 1 ] May 28, 2015

the husband swap book coverI have 1 copy of The Husband Swap: A True Story of Unconventional Love by Louisa Leontiades to give away!

Open internationally

About the book

Louisa and Gilles love each other. There’s a problem in paradise, though: their marriage is going nowhere. Together, they decide to explore polyamory, the idea that it’s possible to have more than one lover–and more than one love. They fall in love with another couple and, embarking on a life-changing course, try to make it work as a quad.

Their journey liberates them from the constraints of their unhappy marriage and propels them into a world where they embrace a new way of loving. But this liberation comes with a price. They are challenged in ways they didn’t expect, and the experiment takes them to a place they didn’t anticipate. They must learn to accept a new understanding of relationships, each other and themselves.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It

Giveaway: The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne

[ 16 ] May 6, 2015

the ice twins book coverI have 5 copies of The Ice Twins by S.K. Tremayne to give away!

Open to US residents only

About the book

One of Sarah’s daughters died. But can she be sure which one? The Ice Twins is a terrifying psychological thriller with a twisting plot worthy of Gillian Flynn.

A year after one of their identical twin daughters, Lydia, dies in an accident, Angus and Sarah Moorcroft move to the tiny Scottish island Angus inherited from his grandmother, hoping to put together the pieces of their shattered lives. But when their surviving daughter, Kirstie, claims they have mistaken her identity–that she, in fact, is Lydia–their world comes crashing down once again.

As winter encroaches, Angus is forced to travel away from the island for work, Sarah is feeling isolated, and Kirstie (or is it Lydia?) is growing more disturbed. When a violent storm leaves Sarah and her daughter stranded, Sarah finds herself tortured by the past–what really happened on that fateful day one of her daughters died?

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It

Giveaway: Are You Fully Charged? by Tom Rath

[ 3 ] May 5, 2015

are you fully charged book coverI have 3 copies of Are You Fully Charged?: The 3 Keys to Energizing Your Work and Life by Tom Rath to give away!

Open to US and Canada residents only

About the book

In Are You Fully Charged?, author Tom Rath reveals the three keys that matter most for our daily health and well-being, as well as our engagement in our work. Drawing on the latest and most practical research from health, psychology, and economics, this book focuses on changes we can make to create better days for ourselves and others.

Are You Fully Charged? will challenge you to stop pursuing happiness and start creating meaning instead, lead you to rethink your daily interactions with the people who matter most, and show you how to put your own health first in order to be your best every day.

This book is part of a new series that challenges people to rethink what’s most important for their work and well-being. The series includes a feature-length movie, interviews with top social scientists, a new children’s book, an app, and a website filled with resources for improving well-being.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It

Giveaway: Cut Me Loose by Leah Vincent

[ 8 ] May 4, 2015

cut me loose book coverI have a copy of Cut Me Loose: Sin and Salvation After My Ultra-Orthodox Girlhood by Leah Vincent to give away!

Open to US residents only

About the book

Cut Me Loose by Leah Vincent is an electrifying memoir about a young woman’s self-destructive spiral after being cast out by her ultra-Orthodox Jewish family.

Leah Vincent was born into the Yeshivish community, an ultra-Orthodox Jewish sect that shuns the modern world. She and her ten siblings adored their father, an influential rabbi, and sought his approval as the head of their traditional household. But Leah began to notice and disagree with some aspects of this fundamentalist, male-centered world; she protested her father’s racial slurs and dreamed of going to college. When, at sixteen, Leah was caught exchanging letters with a boy—breaking a religious ban on contact between the sexes—her family cut all ties. Sent to live on her own in New York City, adrift and unprepared for the freedoms of secular life, Leah’s desperate loneliness coupled with her stubborn loyalty to the dogma of her past pulled her into a vicious cycle of promiscuity and self-harm.

It took a shocking state of despair to empower her to transform a life of tragedy into a tale of unexpected triumph, one that illuminates both the oppressive world of religious fundamentalism and the broader issues facing young women from all backgrounds as they grapple with sexuality and identity.

In the vein of Prozac Nation and Girl, Interrupted, this brutally honest memoir tells the story of one woman’s struggle to define herself as an individual.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It

Giveaway: Re Jane by Patricia Park

[ 8 ] April 28, 2015

re jane book coverI have a copy of Re Jane by Patricia Park to give away!

Open to US residents only

About the book

For Jane, a half-Korean, half-American orphan, Flushing, Queens, is the place she’s been trying to escape from her whole life. Sardonic yet vulnerable, she toils, unappreciated, in her strict uncle’s grocery store and politely observes the traditional principle of nunchi (a combination of good manners, hierarchy, and obligation). Desperate for a new life, she’s thrilled to become the au pair for the Mazer-Farleys, two Brooklyn English professors and their adopted Chinese daughter. Inducted into the world of organic food co-ops, and nineteenth-century novels, Jane is the recipient of Beth Mazer’s feminist lectures and Ed Farley’s very male attention. But when a family death interrupts Jane and Ed’s blossoming affair, she flies off to Seoul, leaving New York far behind.

Reconnecting with family, and struggling to learn the ways of modern-day Korea, Jane begins to wonder if Ed Farley is really the man for her. Jane returns to Queens, where she must find a balance between two cultures and accept who she really is.

Perfect for readers of Ruth Ozeki, Chang-rae Lee, Allegra Goodman, and—of course—Charlotte Brontë, Re Jane is a bright, comic story of falling in love, finding strength, and living not just out of obligation to others, but for one’s self.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It

Giveaway: The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd

[ 19 ] April 24, 2015

invention of wings book coverI have a copy of The Invention of Wings by Sue Monk Kidd to give away!

Open to US residents only

About the book

Sue Monk Kidd’s #1 New York Times bestseller The Invention of Wings, now available in paperback, is a magnificent novel about two unforgettable American women. Writing at the height of her narrative and imaginative gifts, Kidd presents a masterpiece of hope, daring, the quest for freedom, and the desire to have a voice in the world.

Hetty “Handful” Grimké, an urban slave in early nineteenth-century Charleston, yearns for life beyond the suffocating walls that enclose her within the wealthy Grimké household. The Grimké’s daughter, Sarah, has known from an early age she is meant to do something large in the world, but she is hemmed in by the limits imposed on women.

Kidd’s sweeping novel is set in motion on Sarah’s eleventh birthday in 1803, when she is given ownership of ten-year-old Handful, who is to be her handmaid. We follow their remarkable journeys over the next thirty-five years, as both strive for lives of their own, dramatically shaping each other’s destinies and forming a complex relationship marked by guilt, defiance, estrangement and the uneasy ways of love.

As the stories build to a riveting climax, Handful will endure loss and sorrow, finding courage and a sense of self in the process. Sarah will experience crushed hopes, betrayal, unrequited love, and ostracism before leaving Charleston to find her place alongside her fearless younger sister, Angelina, as one of the early pioneers in the abolition and women’s rights movements.

Inspired by the historical figure of Sarah Grimké, Kidd goes beyond the record to flesh out the rich interior lives of all of her characters, both real and invented, including Handful’s cunning mother, Charlotte, who courts danger in her search for something better.

This exquisitely written novel is a triumph of storytelling that looks with unswerving eyes at a devastating wound in American history, through women whose struggles for liberation, empowerment, and expression will leave no reader unmoved.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Pin It
Page 1 of 8512345...102030...Last »