About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

14 03, 2012

Kindle Fire Giveaway!

By | March 14th, 2012|Categories: Giveaways|Tags: , |64 Comments

Rating:
The Barrett Company Hollywood Book Publicity Tour + Win FREE Kindle Fire!

About The Barrett Company:

Media expert & advisor Charles Barrett formed The Barrett Company in 1991 as a full service media relations and media marketing/communications agency. The Los Angeles headquartered firm offers 21st century integrated media outreach and media marketing expertise with an emphasis on the entertainment and leisure time industries serving authors/publishers, Hollywood celebrities, motion pictures, and television.

Since inception, TBC has served such companies as Simon & Schuster, Globe Pequot Press, Norton Publishers, Warner Brothers Studios, American Movie Classics cable channel, ABC TV, CBS TV, Fox Television, self-published author publishers such as Xlibris, Author House, I-Universe and numerous celebrities from Johnny Carson to Ed McMahon to Kevin Costner to Oprah Winfrey (Oprah’s Big Give television series on

7 03, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway: Bryan Cohen

By | March 7th, 2012|Categories: Authors, Giveaways, Guest Posts|Tags: , , , |33 Comments

Rating:

Bryan Cohen here, guest poster and author, promoting my new book The Post-College Guide to Happiness for The Happiness Blog Tour.

I’m giving away free digital review copies of the book and doing a giveaway for paperback copies, audio copies and even a Kindle Fire! Read on and check out the info below the post.

“The important question is not, what will yield to man a few scattered pleasures, but what will render his life happy on the whole amount.”

– Joseph Addison

Party Hearty

When I left college, I didn’t know what to do with myself. I’d had a limited amount of freedom at college and I’d used it to party hearty when I had the chance, but now I was in a whole new world with a job, an apartment and a future.

6 03, 2012

Giveaway: The Courtesan’s Lover by Gabrielle Kimm

By | March 6th, 2012|Categories: Giveaways|Tags: , , |38 Comments

Rating:

I have a copy of The Courtesan’s Lover by Gabrielle Kimm to give away!

About the book

Francesca Felizzi, former mistress of the Duke of Ferrara, revels in the art of entertaining wealthy men. Astonishingly beautiful, lasciviously talented, and stunningly tempting, she adores the power she wields over her patrons. Francesca knows she must succeed as a courtesan—she has two young daughters to support. But an unexpected encounter threatens to change everything, making it clear that her sumptuous life is a gaudy façade. Francesca suddenly finds herself and her daughters abruptly plunged into the sort of danger she has dreaded ever since she began to work the streets all those years ago.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant and Marina Fiorato, The Courtesan’s Lover is a compelling and vibrant tale from an up-and-coming fresh voice that readers will want to savor.

Also by

27 02, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway: Sarah Pinneo, author of Julia’s Child

By | February 27th, 2012|Categories: Authors, Giveaways, Guest Posts|Tags: , , , |34 Comments

Rating:

Please welcome author Sarah Pinneo who’s here to share her recipe for delicious Almond Cookies!

Don’t forget to enter to win a copy of Sarah’s book, Julia’s Child, below.

by Sarah Pinneo

Does every woman go through life feeling like an absolute imposter? Please tell me the answer is yes. When I was developing my cookbook—my first book in print—I cooked constantly. I tested recipes, and then I tested them again.

Working on fiction is different—it’s many more hours at the computer. You don’t have quite so much time to stand around in your kitchen. In fact, you have very little.

But once there’s a glossy book in the store with your name on it, people expect you to cook like a Michelin-rated chef all the time. Suddenly, the word “pot luck” when attached to some event on the school calendar strikes

9 01, 2012

Giveaway: The Keeper by Suzanne Woods Fisher

By | January 9th, 2012|Categories: Giveaways|Tags: , , , , , , |89 Comments

Rating:

I have a copy of Suzanne Woods Fisher’s latest book, The Keeper, to give away!

About the book

Julia Lapp has planned on marrying Paul Fisher since she was a girl. Now twenty-one, she looks forward to their wedding with giddy anticipation. When Paul tells her he wants to postpone the wedding–again–she knows who is to blame. Perpetual bachelor and spreader of cold feet, Roman Troyer, the Bee Man.

Roamin’ Roman travels through the Amish communities of Ohio and Pennsylvania with his hives full of bees, renting them out to farmers in need of pollinators. He relishes his nomadic life, which keeps him from thinking about all he has lost. He especially enjoys bringing his bees to Stoney Ridge each year. But with Julia on a mission to punish him for inspiring Paul’s cold feet, the Lapp farm is looking decidedly less

9 01, 2012

Guest Post & Giveaway: Susan Fraser King, author of Queen Hereafter

By | January 9th, 2012|Categories: Authors, Guest Posts|Tags: , , , , , , |52 Comments

Rating:

Please welcome Susan Fraser King, author of Queen Hereafter – now available in paperback!

Researching Margaret, by Susan Fraser King

Queen Hereafter tells the story of Margaret of Scotland, queen of Scots in the 11th century—a Saxon princess, Hungarian-born, she was descended from Alfred the Great and became a refugee from the Norman Conquest. Shipwrecked with her escaping family along the Scottish coast, she married her protector, King Malcolm Canmore, who had defeated Macbeth for the throne of Scotland. Margaret succeeded Lady Macbeth as queen of Scots, and so she seemed a perfect subject for a sequel to my novel about Lady Macbeth—and Margaret was an intriguing woman in her own right.

A good deal is known about Margaret, which is unusual in an early medieval queen and made the research and the writing easier in some ways than my novel

27 12, 2011

25 Days of Great Books Winner!

By | December 27th, 2011|Categories: Giveaways|Tags: , , |7 Comments

Rating:

Thank you to everyone who followed our 25 Days of Great Books feature and participated in the discussion! You can always see all the books we mentioned by clicking on “Our Favorite Books” link below the banner.

I listed everyone’s comments in order, and picked a winner using random.org. Our winner is….

Carol Wong

Carol, please list your top 6 picks here. You will receive 3 books from your list.

The winner has been contacted and has 48 hours to respond before a substitute winner is selected.

5 12, 2011

25 Days of Great Books

By | December 5th, 2011|Categories: Our Favorite Books|Tags: , , , , |5 Comments

Rating:
December 5, 2011 Selections – from Nina Longfield

Heidegger’s Glasses by Thaisa Frank

Heidegger’s Glasses reminded me that even though an episode in history has been repeatedly told, sometimes a writer can come along with a new angle to the story, helping us rethink what transpired. For me, Thaisa Frank succeeded in retelling an episode that refreshed both the horror of an historic occurrence as well as humanity’s eternal drive for survival.

Heidegger’s Glasses was a different look into an old story of persecution and survival that made me wonder “what would I do”.

Read our review

Read more about the celebration here. Leave a comment and join in on the discussion – 1 lucky reader will win a selection of the books!

1 12, 2011

Giveaway: Across Many Mountains by Yangzom Brauen

By | December 1st, 2011|Categories: Giveaways|Tags: , , , , , |83 Comments

Rating:

Enjoyed our review of Across Many Mountains? I have 5 copies to give away!

About the book

A powerful, emotional memoir, Across Many Mountains is an extraordinary portrait of three generations of Tibetan women, whose lives are forever changed when Chairman Mao’s Red Army crushes Tibetan independence, sending a young mother and her six-year-old daughter on a treacherous journey across the snowy Himalayas toward freedom.

Across Many Mountains is a moving, multi-generational family memoir of three determined and strong women, written by the youngest, Yangzom, who, in resurrecting the story of her inspirational grandmother Kunsang, and persistent mother Sonam, has given us a book full of courage, love, and triumph.

About the author

Born in 1980 to a Swiss father and Tibetan mother, Yangzom Brauen is an actress, model, and political activist. She lives in both Los Angeles and Berlin and

1 12, 2011

25 Days of Great Books

By | December 1st, 2011|Categories: Our Favorite Books|Tags: , , , |8 Comments

Rating:

Luxury Reading will be turning 3 on January 1, 2012 and to celebrate, we will be listing off our favorite books from the years past – it’s our own version of 25 Days of Christmas!

Read more about the celebration here. Leave a comment and join in on the discussion – 1 lucky reader will win a selection of the books!

December 1, 2011 Selection – from Jennifer Jensen

Moonglass by Jessi Kirby

Moonglass has an amazingly beautiful cover, and the words between the cover match it perfectly. I loved the characters, the themes, the romance, and really just everything about this book. I recommend it to anyone looking for a great book to read, regardless of what genres they may actually prefer.

Read our review here