Rating:

Reviewed by Jennifer Jensen

29-year-old suburban California divorcee and single mom Veronica Czaplicki shares an uncanny physical resemblance to pop star and actress Haley Rush. Their outer resemblance is where their similarities end. While Haley is enjoying life in the fast lane with glamorous Hollywood parties and is linked romantically to hottie co-star Brady Ellis, Veronica is struggling to gain control of her finances and recover from the humiliation of her husband leaving her for a much older woman. Haley’s and Veronica’s worlds collide when a chance encounter between Veronica and Haley’s manager, Jay, presents Veronica with an opportunity she just can’t refuse.

For $100 an hour, Veronica will make public appearances as Haley. To look even more the part, Veronica receives an incredible makeover that helps restore her confidence. The more immersed she becomes in Haley’s world, the more Veronica puts her son Ben and her best friend Nina on the back burner. Veronica is sure everything will work itself out, especially when Brady Ellis expresses a romantic interest in her–as Veronica Czaplicki! Trouble begins to brew when Haley seizes the life Veronica could have had. It’s a case of mistaken identities as Haley and Veronica find out if the grass is truly greener on the other side.

Just Like Me, Only Better is a light, romantic comedy that was an enjoyable read from beginning to end. Veronica is an extremely likable heroine, even if she is a little too naive and trusting of people that are obviously out to exploit her. At times I wanted to sit her down and talk her through the messes she kept getting herself into, but in the end Veronica pulled herself up and became a stronger person by learning from the embarrassing mistakes she made. Getting to live like Haley, even though she became herself at the end of the day, exposed Veronica to experiences and people she otherwise never would have known. I was empathetic to Haley as well, and was relieved that Carol Snow did not write her as a total train wreck.

Carol Snow’s writing is sweet and to the point, but I felt that Veronica’s “voice” was just a bit too mature for her age. I’m only two years younger than Veronica, but in several situations, Veronica used specific phrases that I felt an older woman would have been more likely to use. It’s a small criticism, and not one that will keep me from reading more of her books. Fans of Sarah Pekkanen, Irene Zutell, and Emily Giffin are sure to find a new favorite in Carol Snow.

Rating: 3.5/5

Jennifer graduated from the University of Utah with a BA in English. She occasionally dabbles with her own fiction writing, particularly with the Young Adult and Paranormal genres. She currently resides in Utah with her husband and daughter.

Review copy was provided free of any obligation by Joan Schulhafer Publishing & Media Consulting. No monetary or any other form of compensation was received.