About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

12 12, 2016

Review: Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

By | December 12th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , |2 Comments

Rating:

victoria by daisy goodwin book coverReviewed by Kelly Ferjutz

The constant struggle for a novelist is to ’show, don’t tell’. On the other hand, for film, it is almost the opposite, for putting the words with directions on the paper, the actors have a better grasp of the person they are conveying to the rest of the world.

What, then, could be better than a writer who primarily works in film to follow up her acclaimed film Victoria with the novel about that same subject? Makes perfect sense to me! I found Victoria, the book, to be entirely engrossing to the point of not wanting to put it down for any length of time–and I already knew how it would end! Yikes.

3 12, 2013

Review: The Honey Thief by Najaf Mazari & Robert Hillman

By | December 3rd, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , |2 Comments

Rating:

US-Honey-Thief-CoverReviewed by Holly Madison

The Honey Thief, by Najaf Mazari and Robert Hillman is an extraordinary book. This book is a series of short stories that all take place in Afghanistan, from the Hazara tribe point of view. Before reading this book, I had never even heard of the Hazara, which are to Afghanistan almost what Native Americans are to the United States. This is a crude comparison, but it is the closest way I can relate to the Hazara in my mind. They are a tribe of people who are secluded from other Afghans and have often been abused and mistreated, yet they endure.

I am a college educated 30 year old woman, and probably one of the least likely types of people that would read a book like this one. Yet here, a world away from where these stories take

22 11, 2013

Review: The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook

By | November 22nd, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |0 Comments

Rating:

9780307958266_p0_v1_s260x420Reviewed by Colleen Turner

I am always intrigued to discover the inspirations that lead an author to write a book. It seems there are nearly unlimited sources to draw from – conversations, research, accidental occurrences – but my favorites happen to be personal experiences and family history. When I decided to read The Aftermath I had no idea the author drew on his grandfather’s experiences in war torn Germany after World War II or even the complicated dynamics men like his grandfather faced trying to rebuild this decimated land and its equally affected people while also trying to find justice for the crimes done to those countries tasked with the reconstruction. Amongst other acts of humanitarianism, the author’s grandfather, a British Colonel in charge of reconstructing part of Hamburg, Germany, decided to have the German family whose house was being requisitioned for

21 11, 2013

Review: The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere

By | November 21st, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Religious & Inspirational, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , , |8 Comments

Rating:

13033665Reviewed by A.D. Cole

Ivorie Walker is a spinster, by 1950 Tennessee standards. In her early thirties, her life up until this point has been spent working a small farm with her parents and then caring for them as they aged and eventually passed away. The good people of Morgan Hill bemoan her lack of prospects and the fact that she will never be a mother. Now, newly alone and without a man, Ivorie finds herself rambling about her empty home. She feels empty herself, and without purpose. Until she finds the little boy who’s been stealing from her garden.

From the moment she sets eyes on him, Ivorie recognizes, deep inside of herself, that this boy is meant to fill what’s missing in her life. And when she discovers the unspeakable abuse that he is suffering, she doesn’t hesitate to

29 10, 2013

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Anvil of God by J. Boyce Gleason

By | October 29th, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Giveaways, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , |6 Comments

Rating:

Anvil of GodPlease welcome J. Boyce Gleason, author of Anvil of God, as he tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

Enter to win a copy of the book below – open to US residents.

Reviewed by Shannon Trenton

Charles the Hammer died in 741, starting a war between brothers and between faiths that would shape the future of the realm forever. J. Boyce Gleason’s Anvil of God is the story of Charles’ children – three sons who would face off over their shared leadership and a daughter determined to gain her freedom from political games.

The mayor of the Franks is bound to raise a Merovingian king to oversee the entire realm, but Charles Martel has higher ambitions for his family. He chooses to divide the kingdom between his three sons: Carloman, a fierce warrior whose skill on

9 10, 2013

Review: The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes

By | October 9th, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction|Tags: , |7 Comments

Rating:

cover-girl-you-left-behindReviewed by Colleen Turner

When Sophie Lefevre’s artist husband, Edouard, goes off to fight for France during WWI she decides to leave Paris and return to her family’s hotel in the small town of St. Peronne in Northern France and assist her sister in running it. When the town falls to the Germans their occupation leads to increasing restrictions and depleted rations as well as suspicions and gossip amongst neighbors. When the German Kommandant becomes enraptured with one of Edouard’s paintings of Sophie called The Girl You Left Behind, and Sophie learns Edouard has been captured and is being imprisoned in one of their camps, she decides to risk everything – the love of her family, her good name in St. Peronne, her very integrity – for the chance to be with Edouard again.

Nearly a century later, Liv Halston is still struggling

1 08, 2013

Review: The White Princess by Phillipa Gregory

By | August 1st, 2013|Categories: Biographical, Contemporary, For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , , |9 Comments

Rating:

12326627Reviewed by Krista Castner

Phillipa Gregory has delivered a tautly paced book of historical fiction with The White Princess, the fifth book in her Cousins’ War series. The book is set in the years after Henry VII defeats Richard III at the Battle of Bosworth Field in 1485. After his victory, Princess Elizabeth of York is forced to marry Henry Tudor. Princess Elizabeth York is the eldest daughter of King Edward IV, and the niece of Richard III. By joining the houses of Lancaster and York in this way he hopes to end the period of conflict now known as The War of the Roses.

This book is told from Elizabeth’s perspective as she watches her unconfident husband try to win the hearts of the English people. He doesn’t have the easy charm of the Yorks. He’s constantly looking over his shoulder

11 08, 2011

Review: The Lady of the Butterflies by Fiona Mountain

By | August 11th, 2011|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , , , , , |10 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Claudia Robinson

“I had all that I had ever desired, and yet it felt that something vital was still missing from my life. It lacked some purpose. It lacked that sense of adventure and discovery that had always been so necessary to me. Stop being greedy, Eleanor. Do not ask for too much, or you might lose all that you already have. ” – Eleanor, The Lady of the Butterflies, Fiona Mountain.

Eleanor Goodricke is the daughter of a 17th C. Puritan nobleman with a keen desire to fuse science with Christianity, God’s most miraculous moments dissected by and for faith. His unorthodox methods, puritanical ideals, as well as the methods used in raising his daughter, who shares his passion for science, keep him on the outskirts of society, who understand nothing of his ways. When he passes

5 07, 2011

Review: The Second Duchess by Elizabeth Loupas

By | July 5th, 2011|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , , , , , , , , |7 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Colleen Turner

In The Second Duchess, Elizabeth Loupas expands on Robert Browning’s Victorian poem “My Last Duchess” to bring to life the very real and very enigmatic court of Ferrara under Alfonso II d’Este. Through the eyes of his second duchess, Barbara of Austria, we are thrust head first and unprotected into this 16th century pit of vipers, made to feel, smell, taste, see and hear the danger and intrigue at one of the key points of the Italian Renaissance.

Barbara of Austria doesn’t expect happily-ever-after from her marriage to Duke Alfonso d’Este. As a relatively unattractive, older princess of Austria, one that could have as easily been sent off to become a nun like some of her sisters, she expects the culture, splendor and exulted status that being the Duchess of Ferrara should bring. She is determined

16 05, 2011

Blog Tour: Queen by Right by Anne Easter Smith

By | May 16th, 2011|Categories: Contemporary, For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , , , , , , |5 Comments

Rating:

Please join Anne Easter Smith, author of Queen By Right, as she tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

Reviewed by Erin McKibbin

At the close of the Hundred Year War arose one of history’s greatest love stories: the story of Duke Richard Plantagenet and Duchess Cecily Neville. Matched as childhood friends, Cecily and “Dickon” grew up together, fell in love, and founded a royal line whose descendants sit on the English throne today.

Richard Plantagenet, the son of an executed traitor, had a greater claim to the throne than King Henry himself. And yet, his highest ambition was to serve his king with dignity. Cecily Neville, “the Rose of Raby,” was the youngest (and most favored) child of the very powerful Earl Ralph Neville of Westmorland and her only desire was to see her husband