About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

14 12, 2015

Review: The Age of Reinvention by Karine Tuil

By | December 14th, 2015|Categories: Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , |4 Comments

Rating:

the age of reinvention book coverReviewed by Neriza Billi

From France to the United States, before and after 9/11. A tragic story of three people; their rise and fall from grace; the lies and secrets that have haunted them and finally, caught up with them.

Samir, Nina, and Samuel were good friends back in France. Samuel is Jewish, and he’s been with Nina for some time when they met Samir, an attractive, charming Arab originally from Tunisia. When Samuel caught Nina and Samir in bed together, he made her choose. Nina chose to stay with Samuel.  Samir, devastated, left Paris for Canada and eventually, United States.

After twenty years, Samir, now known as Sam, has become a famous lawyer in the United States.  Married to a woman from a well-known Jewish family. But, he harbors a secret. They do not know that he

22 12, 2014

Review: Bittersweet by Colleen McCullough

By | December 22nd, 2014|Categories: Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , |4 Comments

Rating:

bittersweet book coverReviewed by Colleen Turner

Bittersweet revolves around the lives and loves of the four Latimer sisters, two sets of twin half-sisters who are as close as sisters can be while also having very different personalities: Edda, the oldest, is the absolutely brilliant protector of the group that longs to become a doctor, something not many women are able to accomplish in Australia in the 1920s and 1930s when the novel takes place; Grace, Edda’s twin, longs for marriage and a life of comfort being taken care of by a husband; Tufts, the most down to earth and practical twin, is determined to make her own career and never lose herself to marriage; and Tuft’s twin, Kitty, the sharp-tongued, strikingly beautiful sister, wants nothing more than to be loved and appreciated for something other than her looks. All four sisters grow up

25 12, 2013

Review: The Pieces We Keep by Kristina McMorris

By | December 25th, 2013|Categories: Contemporary, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction|Tags: , |3 Comments

Rating:

tpwk_coverReviewed by Colleen Turner

Still struggling to cope with the death of her husband two years prior, Audra Hughes is desperate to find another job and life far from the constant reminders and memories of their life together. But as Audra and her young son, Jack, begin a plane ride on their way to a job interview Jack becomes uncontrollable and must be restrained and removed from the plane. Once such a sweet and affable boy, Jack’s erratic and strange behavior continues to get worse, with violent night terrors, drawings of burning planes and Nazis and even speaking German – a language he has never been taught – to a young U.S. Army veteran, Sean Malloy, who he has never met before. When Audra and Sean work to try and piece together Jack’s actions with information they learn about WWII they begin

9 12, 2013

Review: The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton

By | December 9th, 2013|Categories: Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , |8 Comments

Rating:

imagesReviewed by Colleen Turner

When I first started reading The Luminaries I must admit I was a bit intimidated. This chunkster is 830 pages long, is broken up into twelve parts all labeled with a complicated looking astrological chart and location coordinates and has a classical, Victorian writing style to it. However, once I actually started reading it I found it hard to stop. This crime mystery set in 19th century New Zealand is unlike anything I have read before and, for that and many other reasons, was entirely entertaining and consuming.

The first part of The Luminaries is 360 pages all by itself and begins on a dark and stormy night in a small town on the coast of New Zealand. Walter Moody has fled his past and traveled

25 11, 2013

Review: Burial Rites by Hannah Kent

By | November 25th, 2013|Categories: Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , |4 Comments

Rating:

Burial Rites AmericanReviewed by Nina Longfield

Set in Iceland in 1829, Hannah Kent’s novel, Burial Rites, tells the story of Agnes Magnusdottir. The novel begins with a rumination of impending death. A death by execution. Agnes is a housemaid convicted in the death of her former master. The narration floats from Agnes’ point-of-view, to her chosen confessor priest, Thorvardur Jonsson (Toti), to the Jonsdottir family, and even letters and public announcements regarding Agnes’ alleged crimes. 

After being convicted of murder and sentenced to death, Agnes is sent to live with family of District Officer Jon Jonsdottir as it was determined the condemned should wait out her final days in the company of upright Christians who inspire repentance. The Jonsdottir family is at first angered to be used as the holding house of this condemned woman of ill reputation, but each

22 11, 2013

Review: The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook

By | November 22nd, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |0 Comments

Rating:

9780307958266_p0_v1_s260x420Reviewed by Colleen Turner

I am always intrigued to discover the inspirations that lead an author to write a book. It seems there are nearly unlimited sources to draw from – conversations, research, accidental occurrences – but my favorites happen to be personal experiences and family history. When I decided to read The Aftermath I had no idea the author drew on his grandfather’s experiences in war torn Germany after World War II or even the complicated dynamics men like his grandfather faced trying to rebuild this decimated land and its equally affected people while also trying to find justice for the crimes done to those countries tasked with the reconstruction. Amongst other acts of humanitarianism, the author’s grandfather, a British Colonel in charge of reconstructing part of Hamburg, Germany, decided to have the German family whose house was being requisitioned for

21 11, 2013

Review: The Good Dream by Donna VanLiere

By | November 21st, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Religious & Inspirational, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , , |8 Comments

Rating:

13033665Reviewed by A.D. Cole

Ivorie Walker is a spinster, by 1950 Tennessee standards. In her early thirties, her life up until this point has been spent working a small farm with her parents and then caring for them as they aged and eventually passed away. The good people of Morgan Hill bemoan her lack of prospects and the fact that she will never be a mother. Now, newly alone and without a man, Ivorie finds herself rambling about her empty home. She feels empty herself, and without purpose. Until she finds the little boy who’s been stealing from her garden.

From the moment she sets eyes on him, Ivorie recognizes, deep inside of herself, that this boy is meant to fill what’s missing in her life. And when she discovers the unspeakable abuse that he is suffering, she doesn’t hesitate to

9 10, 2013

Review: The Girl You Left Behind by Jojo Moyes

By | October 9th, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction|Tags: , |7 Comments

Rating:

cover-girl-you-left-behindReviewed by Colleen Turner

When Sophie Lefevre’s artist husband, Edouard, goes off to fight for France during WWI she decides to leave Paris and return to her family’s hotel in the small town of St. Peronne in Northern France and assist her sister in running it. When the town falls to the Germans their occupation leads to increasing restrictions and depleted rations as well as suspicions and gossip amongst neighbors. When the German Kommandant becomes enraptured with one of Edouard’s paintings of Sophie called The Girl You Left Behind, and Sophie learns Edouard has been captured and is being imprisoned in one of their camps, she decides to risk everything – the love of her family, her good name in St. Peronne, her very integrity – for the chance to be with Edouard again.

Nearly a century later, Liv Halston is still struggling

7 10, 2013

Review: The Conditions of Love by Dale M. Kushner

By | October 7th, 2013|Categories: Coming of Age, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , |5 Comments

Rating:

kushnerReviewed by Holly Madison

The Conditions of Love is Dale M. Kushner’s first novel, but you would never know it by the way she writes. The way she describes her characters, her style and often profound little snippets of wisdom hidden throughout the story all make her a very unusual author – probably one of the most talented writers I have ever had the privilege to read.

Right from the beginning, I was drawn into The Conditions of Love by its unusual cover. The cover may look like random things tied together – a flood and a pet parakeet, but these are actually both very relevant to the story within. It is also worth noting that the style of the cover was artful and well done, something that seems rare in most of today’s books.

The story covers three separate sections that tie together

5 12, 2012

Blog Tour: Lasso the Stars by L.L. Nielsen

By | December 5th, 2012|Categories: Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Romance|Tags: |8 Comments

Rating:

Please join L.L. Nielsen, author of Lasso the Stars, as she tours the blogosphere with TLC Book Tours!

Reviewed by Claudia Robinson

“The late morning hour was quiet. The presence of memories rested softly about me as the lone tear dropped into the stream. Gil gathered me close, and I sighed with a deep sense of loss. His voice hovered over me. “Dina, I’m here for you.” – Gil

Dina has cancer. Time isn’t on her side, and while Rachel, her sister, has made every concession, filled every need, indulged (almost) all of Dina’s wishes for her final days on earth, Dina has yet to find acceptance and peace in the inevitable ending of her life. On a rare walk, Dina encounters a handsome cowboy, who possesses a calm and understanding, and an energy about him, that encourages Dina