About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

26 02, 2017

Blog Tour & Giveaway: War Hawk by James Rollins

By | February 26th, 2017|Categories: Action & Adventure, Genre Fiction, Giveaways, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Series|Tags: , , , , , |4 Comments

Rating:

war hawk book coverPlease join James Rollins, author of War Hawk, as he tours the blogosphere with Partners in Crime!

14 readers will win a copy of the book–enter the contest below through March 1st!

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

War Hawk is the second novel in the Tucker Wayne series and the whole series is a spin-off from James Rollins’ Sigma Force series. Tucker is an ex-special forces soldier and K-9 team member. Apparently, when he was discharged, he didn’t want to be separated from his partner Kane so he took him along for the ride. The Army disagreed about the arrangement, and somehow Sigma intervened (in a previous story).

25 02, 2017

Review: The Dirt on Ninth Grave by Darynda Jones

By | February 25th, 2017|Categories: Genre Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Paranormal, Romance, Science Fiction & Fantasy, Series|Tags: , , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

dirt on ninth grave book coverReviewed by Bethany Kelly

The Dirt on Ninth Grave is the ninth book in the Charley Davidson series written by Darynda Jones. Although I haven’t read any of the other books in this series, I was pleasantly surprised with Jones’s writing style.

Jane Doe has no idea who she is or where she came from–hence the reason for the name. All she knows is that she is in New York City working in a diner, trying to remember her past. Well, that is before she realizes that she can see dead people…and to say that it surprises her would be an understatement. Pair that with everyone around her seeming to know more about her than they’re willing to admit, and things begin to get interesting.

23 02, 2017

Blog Tour: The Possessions by Sara Flannery Murphy

By | February 23rd, 2017|Categories: Genre Fiction, Ghosts, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance|Tags: , , , , , , |4 Comments

Rating:

the possessions book coverPlease join Sara Flannery Murphy, author of The Possessions, as she tours the blogosphere with TLC Book Tours!

Reviewed by Jennifer Jensen

Debut author Sara Flannery Murphy drew me right in with The Possessions and kept her hooks in me until the very end. The plot line of this first novel sounded similar to the canceled-too-soon TV show Dollhouse, which was a favorite of mine, so I simply had to read it. Written in first person, The Possessions is a raw account of a troubled young woman’s intriguing career as a “body” for the Elysian Society. Eurydice, as she calls herself, though this is not her true name, lends her body to clients who are looking to gain closure with loved ones who have passed on.

21 02, 2017

Review: Taken by Cynthia Eden

By | February 21st, 2017|Categories: Genre Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance, Series|Tags: , , , |6 Comments

Rating:

taken by cynthia eden book coverReviewed by Bethany Kelly

Taken by Cynthia Eden is the fifth book in the LOST series (see our reviews of Torn and Shattered). With two intriguing main characters with similarly disturbing pasts, this book – like the previous four – did not disappoint.

Bailey Jones was a survivor. After all, she had survived the torture the Death Angel had put her through. She had even survived being thrown in her own grave, thought to be dead. However, nightmares of the disappearance of another of the Death Angel’s victims might just drive her crazy…well, even crazier than she already felt.

13 02, 2017

Review: River Road by Carol Goodman

By | February 13th, 2017|Categories: Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , , |6 Comments

Rating:

river road book coverReviewed by Nina Longfield

At dusk, not quite night but no longer day, Nan (Nancy) Lewis takes the curve on River Road too fast. She is blurry eyed, distracted, distraught, and she had maybe too much wine at the college faculty Christmas party. Her thoughts are on what she did not get, what she felt she was owed. Rounding the corner, a deer jumped seemingly from nowhere directly in front of her car. Nan hit her brakes too late. She hears a sickening thud as her car hits the animal then slides into the ditch.

“It was a deer,” she tells herself repeatedly. She searches but cannot find the wounded animal.

3 02, 2017

Review: Trigger Yappy by Diana Orgain

By | February 3rd, 2017|Categories: Amateur Sleuths, Cozy, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

trigger yappy book coverReviewed by Kelly Ferjutz

It’s no secret that I love to read cozy mystery novels. Usually, they’re rather sensible in nature, and frequently have a strong female lead in an unusual setting. Unfortunately, this series lost its common sense somewhere along the way, and all the little ankle-biters running around must have discouraged any retrievers from at least trying to find it!  It’s entirely too cutesy-poo for me, as nearly all the characters act like hyped up grade-schoolers!

Most of the dogs have a lot more common sense than their humans! Having lived there some years ago, I realize that Californians can sometimes be a bit over the top, but really! 

1 02, 2017

Review: Liar’s Key by Carla Neggers

By | February 1st, 2017|Categories: Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Romance|Tags: , , , |5 Comments

Rating:

liar's key book coverReviewed by Caleb Shadis

Liar’s Key is the first book I’ve read about Sharpe and Donovan even though it is the sixth book in the series. The good news is, you don’t really need to read the previous books to enjoy this one, but if you are really interested in the series, I would say start at the beginning. I think there is a lot of history that could make Liar’s Key even more enjoyable.

Agent Emma Sharpe works for the FBI on a special task force that deals with art crimes. Her family has also been known for doing investigations into art, since her grandfather had started an art detective agency decades before she was born. The FBI was able to convince her to come work for them.

29 01, 2017

Review: Ill Met by Murder by Elizabeth J. Duncan

By | January 29th, 2017|Categories: Amateur Sleuths, Cozy, Genre Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Series|Tags: , , , |1 Comment

Rating:

ill met by murder book coverReviewed by Kelly Ferjutz

Murder, romance, theater, doggies, humor–what more could I ask for in a mystery novel? Not much. Elizabeth J. Duncan has created a dandy premise and put it in a mostly-reasonable location, with characters you just can’t help but like and thus care about a what happens to them. The perfect ensemble, to my mind.

But if you’re not a theater-buff, not to fret, that part of it isn’t at all overdone. And neither is the romance. What there is, though, is a delightful, not-well-known location, and a cast of characters that are multi-faceted enough to keep you interested in what is happening to them.

23 01, 2017

Review: The Girl Before by JP Delaney

By | January 23rd, 2017|Categories: Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , , |8 Comments

Rating:

the girl before book coverReviewed by Carrie Ardoin

The Girl Before is another mystery/thriller novel in the vein of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train. Hey, as a matter of fact, it even has the word “girl” right there in the title. While it’s true that as the events unfold, the unreliable narrator, dual storytelling points of view, and red herrings are very similar to the other books I’ve mentioned, the plot of The Girl Before enthralled me right from the start and never let go.

The book begins with two women who have suffered a traumatic event moving into a famous, yet foreboding house: Jane, who lives in the house in present day, and Emma, who was the girl that lived in the house before her.

22 01, 2017

Blog Tour & Giveaway: A Minor Deception by Nupur Tustin

By | January 22nd, 2017|Categories: Amateur Sleuths, Giveaways, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense|Tags: , , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

a minor deception book coverPlease join Nupur Tustin, author of A Minor Deception, as she tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

Enter to win a copy of the book below!

Reviewed by Kelly Ferjutz

What a charmer! I really wanted to enjoy A Minor Deception before ever even opening it! As a classical music person all my life, any book that appreciates that art form is special to me.

But this one went beyond a good many of them, in cleverly utilizing the music as part of the scenery, so to speak. It is honest in its presentation, and since Franz Josef Haydn – the principal ‘detective’ in this story – is known as the father of both string quartets and symphonies, there are a lot of potential episodes waiting to be unveiled.