About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

21 10, 2012

Review: How Angels Die by David-Michael Harding

By | October 21st, 2012|Categories: Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, War, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Colleen Turner

Whenever I think about war I tend to envision men lined up in uniforms, attacking the enemy across a relatively distinct line. How Angels Die takes a unique approach to war that completely sets this stereotype on edge, showing at its core the brave and determined women who fought against the German occupation of France for the French Resistance during WWII. It is a violent yet tender, heartbreakingly vivid story of two sisters, fighting for the same side yet often divided, and the harsh realities they learn fighting for a peace that refuses to come easily.

Claire and Monique McCleash have grown up in their small French coastal town surrounded by war. The noose around their country has continued to tighten as the WWII Nazi soldiers invaded and then occupied their country. Now in June 1944, each

19 06, 2012

Blog Tour: Spartacus: The Gladiator by Ben Kane

By | June 19th, 2012|Categories: Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , |8 Comments

Rating:

Please join Ben Kane, author of Spartacus: The Gladiator, as he tours the blogosphere with Premier Virtual Author Book Tours!

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

Ben Kane has already written incredible books set in ancient Rome, a trilogy called The Forgotten Legion which I greatly enjoyed. So when I had the opportunity to read his latest project, I was very happy to take it. I was not disappointed: Kane has told another great story, this time about one of the most famous people of ancient Rome after the Emperors – Spartacus the Gladiator.

We meet Spartacus on his way home after being released from the Roman legions. He’s been away for over seven years and comes home to find things have changed, for the worse. His family has been murdered and a tyrant has taken the throne. He enters the gates

6 12, 2011

Review: The Time in Between by Maria Duenas

By | December 6th, 2011|Categories: Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , , , , , |7 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Alisha Churbe

The Time In Between is a recollection told by Sira Quiroga that begins and ends in Madrid, Spain. Her fate and adventures take her on an expedition through war torn Europe during the late 1930s. World War II is very much in the works and the Spanish Civil War rolls on.

I never imagined a story of a dressmaker during war times could keep my attention. The Time In Between is loaded with political and historical details, but the story only rarely slows from it’s breathtaking pace. Some of the historical details tend to slow the story down and many could be cut a bit shorter, but don’t let that deter you. This novel will take you back in time and let you experience the tales of risks and survival. The countries Sira visits and resides in, along

31 10, 2011

Blog Tour: The Sacrovir Revolt by James Mace

By | October 31st, 2011|Categories: Action & Adventure, Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , , , |4 Comments

Rating:

Please welcome James Mace, author of The Sacrovir Revolt, as he tours the blogosphere with Pump Up Your Book!

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

The Sacrovir Revolt is the second book in the Artorian Chronicles and I have to say it’s just as good as the first one! Artorius has continued to work with Vitruvius on his weapons training and has become a legend in his own right. Before too long there are rumblings of a revolt blossoming in Gaul. Artorius’ unit is sent to make sure the minor revolt does not become a major one.

When they get to Gaul they discover the man planning on helping them out is Sacrovir. Sacrovir is the gladiator owner who was humiliated and lost lots of money when Vitruvius killed his gladiator in the ring back in Rome. This causes a few warning flags to

2 09, 2011

Review: The Devil Colony by James Rollins

By | September 2nd, 2011|Categories: Anthologies, Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, War|Tags: , , , , , , |3 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

The Devil Colony is the 7th book in James Rollins’ Sigma Force series. This time an ancient secret, sought after for centuries, has resurfaced once again. It caused a strange explosion, then everything seemed to disintegrate into sand, including the bedrock. Sigma’s arch-nemesis ‘the Guild’ have an excellent idea what it is, so they have a large head-start. Painter Crow becomes personally involved when he discovers his niece was present and is being blamed for the catastrophe.

The trail goes back in history all the way to Thomas Jefferson and Lewis & Clark, who were attempting to find the treasure before the ‘enemy’. There are hints all over the U.S. – Utah, Kentucky, DC – as well as Europe. It appears to be a weapons grade nanotech and could kill the entire planet.

Honestly, I enjoyed the last book

18 08, 2011

Review: The Profession by Steven Pressfield

By | August 18th, 2011|Categories: Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, Political, War|Tags: , , , , , |3 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Erin McKibbin

In 2022, humanitarian organizations from the U.S., Sweden, and Norway start to send food and medical relief to the people in the African breakaway republic of Zamibia despite the sinister efforts of the country’s president to confiscate the supplies and terrorize the people. In 2032, six southern provinces break away from the stable, peaceful Iraq forming their own state, Tajikistan – an oil producing country to rival Saudi Arabia. Force Insertion is hired to provide the might behind the cause.

Force Insertion is a mercenary army led by a U.S. war hero – turned war criminal- General James Salter. Hired by corporations and nations, both big and small, this military conglomerate attracts the best warrior from all nations to its payrolls and the customers with the deepest pockets. Grown out of necessity, this organization begins to rival the

30 07, 2011

Review: The Soldier’s Wife by Margaret Leroy

By | July 30th, 2011|Categories: Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , , , , , , |11 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Colleen Turner

“The silence after he’s spoken seems to hold on to the words, as you might hold water between your hands – just for an instant, a precious moment, before it all leaks away”.

Vivienne de la Mare is doing what many housewives do on the Isle of Guernsey in 1940: she is taking care of her family while her husband is away at war. She has her hands full: young Millie is full of life and curiosity and not adept at readily taking someone else’s words for fact; Blanche is trying to blossom into womanhood within the constraints and frustrations of wartime; Evelyn, Vivienne’s mother-in-law, is constantly longing for her son while her mind slowly begins to slip away.

Then Guernsey is attacked and becomes occupied by the German army. These stilted, foreign men begin to requisition

18 07, 2011

Blog Tour: Soldier of Rome: The Legionary by James Mace

By | July 18th, 2011|Categories: Action & Adventure, Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , , , , , |6 Comments

Rating:

Please join James Mace, author of Soldier of Rome: The Legionary, as he tours the blogosphere with Pump Up Your Book!

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

In Soldier of Rome: The Legionary we meet a young man, Artorius, who joins the Legions in order be a part of the force sent to punish the German barbarians for the Teutoburger Wald massacre. They had wiped out three Roman Legions including the one his older brother had been attached to. We follow Artorius as he becomes a recruit, is trained to be a Legionary and finally marches with the army to exact vengeance upon the barbarian horde.

The Legionary takes place primarily as Tiberius takes over after the death of Caesar Augustus – an interesting and popular time for Roman historical fiction. While I’m not a Roman historian, what knowledge I do

1 06, 2011

Review: The Road to Rome by Ben Kane

By | June 1st, 2011|Categories: Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Series, War|Tags: , , , , , , , |5 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

The Road to Rome by Ben Kane is the third and final(?) book in the Forgotten Legion series. I gave final a question mark because even though it was a good finish, there was enough question of what Romulus was going to do next for another book to be possible. As far as The Road to Rome is concerned, I think it held up well. The second book, The Silver Eagle, did not quite have the same effect on me as the first, The Forgotten Legion, and I think The Road to Rome was a great way to wrap up the series.

The book starts off exactly where the The Silver Eagle left off, with Romulus and Tarquinius having just been conscripted into the Roman legion in Egypt. Having caught a

16 03, 2011

Blog Tour: The Queen’s Lover by Vanora Bennett

By | March 16th, 2011|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Romance, War|Tags: , , |8 Comments

Rating:

Please join Vanora Bennett, author of The Queen’s Lover, as she tours the blogosphere with TLC Book Tours!

Reviewed by Erin McKibbin

During the Hundred Year War, little Catherine de Valois had much to worry about. Her father, the King of France was mad; her mother an adulterer; her brothers, uncles, and cousins were destroying France with their infighting; England had invaded and won; and she and her brother Charlie were all but completely neglected by their parents and the palace staff. But, to make things worse, Catherine had fallen in love with a landless, title less Welshman. Promised in marriage to the conquering King Henry V of England, Catherine begins to understand her royal blood cannot save her from her fate or from a broken heart.

Owen Tudor, son of a Welsh insurgent, was sent to King Henry IV as