About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

22 11, 2013

Review: The Aftermath by Rhidian Brook

By | November 22nd, 2013|Categories: For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Great Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |0 Comments

Rating:

9780307958266_p0_v1_s260x420Reviewed by Colleen Turner

I am always intrigued to discover the inspirations that lead an author to write a book. It seems there are nearly unlimited sources to draw from – conversations, research, accidental occurrences – but my favorites happen to be personal experiences and family history. When I decided to read The Aftermath I had no idea the author drew on his grandfather’s experiences in war torn Germany after World War II or even the complicated dynamics men like his grandfather faced trying to rebuild this decimated land and its equally affected people while also trying to find justice for the crimes done to those countries tasked with the reconstruction. Amongst other acts of humanitarianism, the author’s grandfather, a British Colonel in charge of reconstructing part of Hamburg, Germany, decided to have the German family whose house was being requisitioned for

21 07, 2013

Blog Tour: Of Fathers and Sons by Evan Ostryzniuk

By | July 21st, 2013|Categories: Action & Adventure, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

images (2)Please welcome Evan Ostryzniuk, author of Of Fathers and Sons, as he tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

Reviewed by MaryLu McFall

This second historical novel in a series puts us squarely in Italy with Geoffrey, otherwise known as Hotspur. The young squire is growing up under the eye of John of Gaunt, Duke of Lancaster, a well-known powerful man in English history. Evan Ostryzniuk writes history with great depth, and the novel rings with authenticity. The period of history is full of derring-do and deeds of bravery. It is also full of treachery and bloodshed.

As in the first book, Geoffrey is of interest to readers who enjoy watching a character grow. In this second book, Geoffrey becomes involved in the machinations of those who would destroy the right of Niccolo to rule. The fact

19 06, 2013

Review: The InBetween People by Emma McEvoy

By | June 19th, 2013|Categories: Genre Fiction, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , |1 Comment

Rating:

1579623115.01._SS250_SS250_SCLZZZZZZZ_Reviewed by Claudia Robinson

“I lie on my bed for a time until all the light goes out of the day and I begin to write. I’m desperate to finish now, I need to finish this before I leave, so that these stories and people remain here in the desert, perhaps where they belong, among the stones, and rocks, and cracks, to rest here, so that they reside somewhere at least; and maybe with time they will become less sharp, less glaring, kinder and more forgiving.” – Avi

Avi Goldberg fills the long hours of his jail term, earned for refusing to fight for his country in the Military, by writing about his Israeli friend, Saleem, eager to share the tale of his friend’s life, the loss of their home, and the broken heart of his Grandmother. Through Saleem and based as

16 06, 2013

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Spartacus: Rebellion by Ben Kane

By | June 16th, 2013|Categories: Genre Fiction, Giveaways, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |11 Comments

Rating:

Please welcome Ben Kane, author of Spartacus: Rebellion, as he tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours.

Enter to win a copy of the book below – open to US and Canada!

Reviewed by Caleb Shadis

Spartacus: Rebellion is part two of Ben Kane’s two-part set on Spartacus. Kane had intended to write just one book, but he got so caught up in the writing that it turned into two. I have to say that I got just as caught up in the reading and am glad for the extra book full of details.

Book two starts up very shortly after the end of book one. (So if you haven’t read the first book start there!) Spartacus and the army are nearing the Alps and as much as he would like to continue on over and then back home to Thrace, he is afraid the army won’t follow him. On

11 06, 2013

Review: 1356 by Bernard Cornwell

By | June 11th, 2013|Categories: Action & Adventure, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , , |0 Comments

Rating:

628x471Reviewed by Marcus Hammond

The Hundred Years’ War was a complex series of conflicts that pitted England against France from 1337 to 1453. In the fourth book in Bernard Cornwell’s Grail Quest series titled 1356, Thomas of Hookton, an excommunicated mercenary is sent on a search for an ancient holy relic that could turn the tide of war. As a mercenary, Thomas is known as Le Batard for his ruthless skills as a combat leader and archer. Thomas, however, is a legend in his own right. Excommunicated for rescuing an alleged heretic (his wife) from the torture of a clergyman, Thomas fights for the honor of his men, family, and liege lord. During battle, Thomas and his Hellequin devastate the enemy ranks with skilled archers and vicious men-at-arms.

As the story opens, Thomas and his Hellequin are told by their liege lord

5 06, 2013

Blog Tour: A Constellation of Vital Phenomena by Anthony Marra

By | June 5th, 2013|Categories: Family Saga, Genre Fiction, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Political, War|Tags: , , , |7 Comments

Rating:

images (3)Please join Anthony Marra, author of A Constellation of Vital Phenomena, as he tours the blogosphere with TLC Book Tours!

Reviewed by Vera Pereskokova

Helpless, Akhmed watches as his friend Dokka is taken by the Feds, bound for the “Landfill” from where few people return. As the Feds leave and Dokka’s house burns down to the ground, Akhmed finds Haava, Dokka’s eight-year-old daughter, hiding in the woods. For some unimaginable reason, Haava is wanted by the Feds and Akhmed knows that she is not safe in the village. Tracking around the checkpoints, Akhmed leads Havaa to an abandoned hospital where the only remaining doctor, Sonja Rabina, continues to treat anyone who walks through the door.

Akhmed, a doctor himself, volunteers his services in exchange for shelter for Haava, and desperate for help, Sonja grudgingly agrees. What ensues are emotioned-filled five days

9 05, 2013

Review: Life After Life by Kate Atkinson

By | May 9th, 2013|Categories: Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction, Mystery, Thriller & Suspense, War|Tags: , , , , |5 Comments

Rating:

15790842Reviewed by Jessi Buchmann

I enjoyed Life After Life so much that it made the daunting 529 pages breeze by. Atkinson writes so gracefully you can’t help but be spell bound by her story. Our heroine Ursula Todd is destined – it would seem – to die repeatedly throughout the novel. The setting is the English countryside World War II, where through her words Atkinson gives Fox Corner (home to Ursula, her siblings and parents Sophie and Hugh) a ‘character’ of its own. She describes the war so vividly you imagine she lived through it. Atkinson tackles these many frequent deaths with short chapters that often end with “darkness fell”. The following chapter continues on with Ursula living and seeing ‘premonitions’ that keep her alive until her next untimely death.

There are so many facets to this story that the unfolding of events

3 02, 2013

Blog Tour & Giveaway: Captain Blackwell’s Prize by V.E. Ulett

By | February 3rd, 2013|Categories: Action & Adventure, Genre Fiction, Giveaways, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Romance, War|Tags: , , , , , |21 Comments

Rating:

perf6.000x9.000.inddPlease welcome V.E. Ulett, author of Captain Blackwell’s Prize, as she tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours.

Enter to win a copy of the book below – open to US, Canada, UK and Australia!

Reviewed by Lauren Cannavino

Every now and then it’s nice to read a book that is outside the realm of what you would normally read. For me, a historical fiction novel that is about adventure and love on a navy ship would usually is not a book that I would typically reach for. That said, I am happy that I made the leap because I really enjoyed Captain Blackwell’s Prize by V.E. Ulett. This is not just a tale of love on a pirate ship, but instead a piece of historical fiction that blends British Naval history and details into a pleasing love

31 12, 2012

Review: The Coldest Night by Robert Olmstead

By | December 31st, 2012|Categories: Contemporary, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |2 Comments

Rating:

coldestjpg-69cedc5a5b1404bfReviewed by Rebecca Berry

Henry Childs is a young boy when he meets Mercy, a judge’s daughter, at the horse stable that he works at. They fall passionately in love, and, in the face of her father’s disapproval, run away together to New Orleans. The two lovers are happy for a time but end up being brutally separated after being hunted down by Mercy’s father, and Henry runs away to find escape in the Korean War. Throughout the violent battle, he seems to find his calling as a soldier, but also dreams of returning home and to Mercy. We know from the jacket of the book that he makes it back home, but in what condition will he be in? And, will he be able to return to the life he is missing?

The Coldest Night is a compelling and dramatic story that

26 11, 2012

Review: In His Stead by Judith Sanders

By | November 26th, 2012|Categories: Family Saga, Genre Fiction, Literary, Literature & Fiction, War|Tags: , , |5 Comments

Rating:

Reviewed by William Moran

Could anything be more moving or inspiring than that of patriotic fervor? In His Stead by Judith Sanders makes a most compelling argument. In His Stead examines one Pennsylvanian family’s sacrifices involving several generations of foreign wars and their attempts to lessen the increasing cost. The personal, collective loss and potential horrors of war are never far from the mind of the reader or characters throughout this story.

The main character Thomas Lane is a hard working, blue collar sort of fellow. He is patriotic to a fault and understands duty and sacrifice better than most. He is a hard working retired Army Ranger and remains committed to providing for his family with the same values he possessed as a professional soldier all while battling with Post Traumatic Stress. A loving husband, father and close friend to all