About Me:

Welcome! The ultimate luxury for me is curling up with a good book and a warm blanket. The next best thing is reviewing books and sharing them with others.

Want to join our review team? Email me!

Blog Button

Blog Button

Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

27 03, 2017

Blog Tour: The Enemies of Versailles by Sally Christie

By | March 27th, 2017|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Giveaways, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Romance|Tags: , , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

enemies of versailles book coverPlease join Sally Christie, author of The Enemies of Versailles, as she tours the blogosphere with Historical Fiction Virtual Book Tours!

There are 5 copies of the book for grabs–enter here by 3/31!

Reviewed by Vera Pereskokova

In The Enemies of Versailles, the conclusion to The Mistresses of Versailles trilogy, Louis XV’s wife and mistress – Marie Leszczyńska and Madame de Pompadour – have both passed away and the aging King is swept away by the stunningly beautiful Jeanne Becu. Jeanne is young and vivacious and the perfect antidote to the King who is beginning to feel the weight of his years.

29 12, 2016

Blog Tour: Marlene by C.W. Gortner

By | December 29th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Women's Fiction|Tags: , , |2 Comments

Rating:

marlene book coverPlease join C.W. Gortner, author of Marlene, as he tours the blogosphere with TLC Book Tours!

Reviewed by Colleen Turner

The Golden Age of Hollywood has always held a unique fascination for me, with so much glamour and mystery surrounding the lives of the various players that just begs to be explored. Given this I had a vague idea of who Marlene Dietrich was even if I didn’t know much about her personal life. After reading and enjoying a number of books by author C.W. Gortner I did know, however, that I was in for a treat and was bound to learn a great deal in the process. What I didn’t expect was to discover such a rare and remarkable woman that is truly beyond compare.

12 12, 2016

Review: Victoria by Daisy Goodwin

By | December 12th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, For Fans of Historical Fiction, Genre Fiction, Gift Ideas, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , |3 Comments

Rating:

victoria by daisy goodwin book coverReviewed by Kelly Ferjutz

The constant struggle for a novelist is to ’show, don’t tell’. On the other hand, for film, it is almost the opposite, for putting the words with directions on the paper, the actors have a better grasp of the person they are conveying to the rest of the world.

What, then, could be better than a writer who primarily works in film to follow up her acclaimed film Victoria with the novel about that same subject? Makes perfect sense to me! I found Victoria, the book, to be entirely engrossing to the point of not wanting to put it down for any length of time–and I already knew how it would end! Yikes.

17 11, 2016

Review: Sagan, Paris 1954 by Anne Berest

By | November 17th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Literature & Fiction, World Literature|Tags: , |1 Comment

Rating:

sagan paris 1954 book coverReviewed by Nina Longfield

Sagan, Paris 1954 is a story about a young woman who writes a novel. That author is Francoise Sagan. Her novel is Bonjour Tristesse. Within Sagan, Paris 1954, Anne Berest brings to life Francoise Sagan’s journey from unknown teenager trying to find a publisher for her novel to the toast of the French literary scene within a year. Berest breathes life into Francoise Sagan’s character. Sagan is, at times, an average teenager on the cusp of adulthood then at other times seemingly wise beyond her eighteen years. Berest draws her sketches from Sagan’s writings, interviews, letters, and interviews with those who knew Francoise Sagan.

10 11, 2016

Review: The Woman on the Orient Express by Lindsay Jayne Ashford

By | November 10th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , |4 Comments

Rating:

woman on the orient express book coverReviewed by Maria Tews

As a huge fan of Agatha Christie, I was intrigued by The Woman on the Orient Express by Lindsay Jayne Ashford, a historical fiction novel about Agatha Christie’s own, eventful trip on the Orient Express. Recovering from a divorce that caused her mental breakdown and seeking an exotic adventure in the Middle East, Agatha boards the Orient Express to heal.

Fate leads her to Katharine Keeling, her cabin mate, and Nancy Nelson, both women with painful secrets of their own traveling and trusting the train to bring them to better futures.

24 10, 2016

Review: Mata Hari’s Last Dance by Michelle Moran

By | October 24th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction, Romance|Tags: , , , |2 Comments

Rating:

mata hari's last dance book coverReviewed by Alexander Morrison

Mata Hari is one of the most infamous women of the 21st century. Everyone knows the end of her story, a German agent in Paris during World War I, caught and lined up in front of a French firing squad, impetuously blowing them a kiss before they shot her to death for treason. But few know who she was before then. Her internationally renowned career as a dancer is rarely discussed. Her abusive husband, her lost daughter, her tragic upbringing–all buried beneath that single, iconic image of her death. In Mata Hari’s Last Dance, author Michelle Moran tells her story, from days after arriving in Paris for the first time to her eventual death.

18 09, 2016

Review: Terrible Virtue by Ellen Feldman

By | September 18th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , |1 Comment

Rating:

terrible virtue book coverReviewed by Alexander Morrison

Margaret Sanger lived one of the 20th centuries truly great lives. One of eleven children to an impoverished Irish socialist and his sickly wife, Sanger’s early education was scattershot, but illustrated one thing very clearly: the town’s wealthiest women were almost universally healthier than its poorest women, and their access to contraceptives – and thus to family planning – played a role in that health. Thus began a lifelong quest to educate American women on how to take care of their own bodies, a quest that led to the founding of Planned Parenthood, the creation of the birth control pill, and countless legal battles against unjust, censorious laws. But she was also an incredibly passionate woman, whose many loves helped her meet some of the era’s most prominent artists and wealthiest citizens, even as her own family life often took a back seat to her mission.

18 08, 2016

Review: Sisi by Allison Pataki

By | August 18th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Family Saga, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , |4 Comments

Rating:

sisi book coverReviewed by Bethany Kelly

Sisi: Empress on Her Own by Allison Pataki is a historical fiction book focusing entirely on Empress Elisabeth – known as Sisi – who is married to Emperor of Austria-Hungary, Franz Joseph.

Her life as Empress is anything but a life of happiness. Instead, she feels stifled by her duties to not only her empire, but also to her husband and two older children, whose grandmother made it impossible for Sisi to develop any type of meaningful relationship with.

She spends her time in Hungary, instead of the capital of Vienna, doting on her youngest daughter, Valerie, who is the only child she has been allowed to actually raise. Her love for her estate – just outside of Budapest – is paired with an accidental love with Count Andrassy, a Hungarian statesman.

17 08, 2016

Review: The Whale: A Love Story by Mark Beauregard

By | August 17th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , |2 Comments

Rating:

whale a love story book coverReviewed by Meredith Kelly

I enjoyed The Whale: A Love Story despite at times having had a hard time reading it. The book was primarily about the meeting and subsequent friendship of Herman Melville and Nathaniel Hawthorne. In addition to feeling overly factual for a fictional book, it also needed that “spice.” Unfortunately, it read like a well-prepared dish that lacked salt and pepper.

The two gentlemen met in the summer of 1850 on a picnic which was arranged by David Dudley Field, a lawyer and reformer. The guests on this outing reflected a “who’s who” of famous men of that era and included Oliver Wendell Holmes, in addition to Hawthorne and Melville and a few other less significant men. As the group was climbing Monument Mountain in western Massachusetts, it started to rain causing the group to scatter and resulting in Melville and Hawthorne being together with no one else around. Thus began their historical relationship.

5 08, 2016

Review: White Collar Girl by Renee Rosen

By | August 5th, 2016|Categories: Biographical, Genre Fiction, Historical, Literary, Literature & Fiction|Tags: , , |7 Comments

Rating:

white collar girl book coverReviewed by Neriza Billi

Chicago, 1955. Jordan Walsh started working for the Chicago Tribune, but instead of writing hard-hitting news, she was assigned to write for society and advice columns. Since both her father and brother have worked in the same industry, she felt the need to prove her own worth. However, it was not that easy. In a male- dominated newspaper industry back in the 50s, Jordan and other female reporters were referred to as ’sob sisters’. Jordan did not back out easily though. She was ready to work twice as hard and to play the game as one of the guys. Jordan was forced to confront how far she was willing to go for a story and how much she was willing to sacrifice to be respected in the industry, both by her peers and her parents.